Nicholas Phan Stranger Works for Tenor by Nico Muhly 2022

FLAC (tracks), Lossless | 63:35 | 282 Mb
Classical, Instrumental

Nicholas Phan and Nico Muhly’s collaboration began with a commission when Nick curated a series for the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society in 2020. The resulting song cycle, Stranger, finds common ground in the musicians’ reflections on identity and immigration, themes that resonate as much today as they have through the centuries. This world-premiere recording of Stranger compliments Nico’s Lorne Ys My Likinge, a setting of the 19th Chester Mystery Play, and Impossible Things, a triptych of poems by the Greek poet C.P. Cavafy.Nick has recorded with a roll call of collaborators: the adventurous string quartet Brooklyn Rider, shimmering countertenor Reginald Mobley, bold pianist Lisa Kaplan, and transformative Brooklyn-based collective The Knights led by brothers Colin and Eric Jacobsen.
1. Stranger: I. Fragments of the Past (0:58)
2. Stranger: II. Ellis Island (3:14)
3. Stranger: III. All Men (3:01)
4. Stranger: IV. Leviticus 19:34 (1:25)
5. Stranger: V. Threats & Intimidations (3:04)
6. Stranger: VI. Everyone Cries (2:50)
7. Stranger: VII. My Love (4:16)
8. Lorne Ys My Likinge (15:11)
9. Impossible Things: Part I: The Hereafter, Near an Open Window (11:48)
10. Impossible Things: Part II: September of 1903, January of 1904 (7:02)
11. Impossible Things: Part III: 27 June 1906, 2pm; Impossible Things (10:51)





没有账号? 注册  忘记密码?