VA Detroit Jazz City Workshop Jazz Singles 1962 63 Remastered Version 2022

FLAC (tracks)  | Jazz | 42 min | 161MB

Previously unreleased compilation from the Jazz Workshop catalog, a Motown Jazz oriented subsidiary founded by Berry Gordy Jr. In 1962. The label was intended to release hi-quality jazz singles with a distinctive pop flavor. Here are five different groupings featuring heavyweights such as Thad Jones, Frank Foster, Sonny Payne, Frank Wess, Cecil McBee, Kirk Lightsey, as well as two original Funk Brothers: guitarist Joe Messina and pianist Johnny Griffith. No matter if in blues, soul, funk, or jazz, Detroit bears one of the deepest black music traditions in America. Now if you want to get through the motor city jazz side this is the right place to start. Features Hank & Carol Diamond, Earl Washington All Stars, Dave Hamilton, Johnny Griffith Trio, George Bohannon Quartet, and Paula Greer.

01. Hank & Carol Diamond – Exodus
02. Hank & Carol Diamond – I Remember You
03. Earl Washington All Stars – Opus No. 3
04. Earl Washington All Stars – March Lightly
05. Dave Hamilton – Late Freight
06. Dave Hamilton – Mellow in Coli
07. Johnny Griffith Trio – I’mi See You Later
08. Johnny Griffith Trio – I Did
09. George Bohannon Quartet – Bobbie
10. George Bohannon Quartet – El Rig
11. Paula Greer – I Did
12. Paula Greer – Falling in Love with Love





没有账号? 注册  忘记密码?